top of page
  • Writer's pictureASHLEY MANRIQUE PUENTES

Why did I choose to read Stamped?

Hello, I wrote about Stamped at the beginning of last year, 2020 (9th grade), sorry if the way I wrote SUCKS (or perhaps I haven't changed on bit =( ) I want to have these in the book hook because even though the writting is trash, I am still very proud of them. Here is the original website if you want to check it out: https://s101988.wixsite.com/veryinteligentblog

Now, enjoy (THERE WILL BE CRINGE, like everything I write =( ).



This book was one out of my three options of books I could read and search about in class. Obviously, without knowing anything other than what is said on the tittle, I pretty much just picked it at random, and just though it was going to be an easy book that I could just finish and move on.

But let me tell you, Stamped is much, much more then just what I expected at first.

When I was able to hold the book in my hands, and read what it said in the cover....IT IS A HARD COVER BOOK!! I disagree with ANYONE that says that soft cover books are the best. You are wrong! Hard cover books are able to help you support the book, they are also very satisfying to touch, and you can even make your book stand up so your can read more comfortably!

But anyways, I read the title and the description on the back and I found out for the very first time that it was a history book.. a history book! Now I don't know if you noticed, but as the #1 fan of Hamilton, History is my favorite subject, and not only that, but Stamped is a history book that is not a history book, Sign me up! When Stamped was first introduced to me, I just tough it would be here is a date, and what happened, but by just reading the first couple of sentences from the description, it really gave me a way different vibe.

Also can we talk about the cover? I didn't wanna talk about the cover for a whole different post because (At least for me) It is very straight forward the meaning the author is trying to give with this cover. With the vibrant red lines on the side, while covering the head of someone it really gives me a feeling that this kid or man is in a cage, blooded by the African American's wounds through history , representing the slavery that took place here in America. And really many of my classmates agreed with this, or at least the cage part. How African American's are always silenced by racists, which really even though most are white, there are many who are even black themselves. I know I might be talking the meaning of the cover a bit too dark, but it is the truth and it is what this book is about anyways.

I could've easily changed this book to a different one, but for the fact that it was history, the topic and most importantly the hard cover, I didn't change it at all and will not change it. I hope it is a really good one, and one that teaches me things here and there!

3 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


David Dolnick
David Dolnick
Oct 13, 2021

I am glad you are still adding to this website. :)

Like
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page