top of page
  • Writer's pictureASHLEY MANRIQUE PUENTES

Circe's character development.

Updated: Mar 16, 2021

I finished the book, and.... well how do I explain it.


Last time I talked about Circe, Odysseus appeared into her life. He is the captain of a boat with a couple of men, they get stranded in Circe's island and she lets them stay. They stay for a lot of months for a few reasons, and while that happens, Odysseus and Circe become lovers. Circe learns about Odysseus's past and his family back were he is from (yes, he has a wife and a son).

Finally, Odysseus and his crew leave, leaving Circe all alone once more...actually, not all alone because now she is pregnant! by a man who has a family! and who will never return to her and take care of the child! this is so wrong.

Once Circe gives birth, she learn that the kid is mostly mortal, which means she has to take care of him like a regular baby. She learns how hard being a mother is, and sometimes just wants to give up. But one day, Athena (the goddess of War) appears in front of Circe, and tells her that Circe's baby (Now named Telegonus) has to be killed before she regrets it. Circe protects her child with all her life which makes Athena leave, for now.

Circe creates a magical wall where Athena wont be able to enter the island, and finally raises her child in peace. Telegonus grows to become an intelligent man, as well as one that loves adventure just like his father Odysseus. He learns about his father's stories (or at least what Circe knows about Odysseus) and when he becomes 16, he decides he wants to go and look for his father. Circe, at first, says no to this plan, but eventually realizes that her son must visit his father and learn how to take care of himself on his own.

After a couple of weeks, Telegonus returns to the island in a small boat, all scared and crying. He tells Circe that Odysseus is dead and everyone kicked him out of the kingdom (Sorry, forgot to mention. Odysseus was a king).

Circe assures Telegonus that it was never his fault and that he should move on and stay with her.

Odysseus wife Penelope and his son Telemachus, appear in Circe's island and tell her that they have nowhere to go after Odysseus death. Circe invites them to her house and teaches them everything she knows.

After a couple of years, Telegonus decides he wants to explore on his own and travel the seas. Circe says her goodbyes to her son and decides that it is time to leave the island no matter the cost. She calls her father Helios, and tells him that she is not afraid of any punishment but that now she is going to live free wherever she wants. Her father gets scared and kind of just walks away out of the whole conversation telling her "You have always been the worst of my children...Be sure you do not dishonor me."(Page 361). And Circe responds "I have a better idea. I will do as I please, and when you count your children, leave me out." (Page 361). What!! She talked back to her father???? Do I smell some big character development??


"I have aged. When I look in my polished bronze mirror there are lines upon my face. I am thickened too, and my skin has begun growing loose. I cut myself at my herbs and the scars stay. Sometimes I like it. Sometimes I am vain and dissatisfied. But I do not wish myself back. Of course my flesh reaches for the earth. That is where it belongs. One day, Hermes will lead me down the halls of the dead.........Telemachus comes from our bed to find me. He sits with me in the green-smelling darkness, holding my hand. Our faces are both lined now, marked with our years." (Page 384).


That is one of my favorite quotes of the book, I know Circe probably never existed, but after learning her story, her hardships, and everything that this woman had to go trough, it makes me so happy that she is finally free. But at the same time, sadness fills my mind because she is growing old, her youth was waisted inside a house where no one loved her, and an island with no one except herself.

Circe leaves the island with Telemachus, and Penelope stays in the island.

Circe lives with the mortals, the ones she truly loved the most from the beginning and the ones who accepted her. With Telemachus on her side (and their children), she lives happily and free which is what she always wanted.


Circe has grown so, so much! since the beginning of the book. She was a lonely child, who depended on others in order to fell happy. When Aeetes was gone, she couldn't stand up for herself, and thought she would die. When Glaucus left, she thought she would die. And when everyone turned their backs on her and she was alone, she thought she would die.

But, she learned to take care of herself, realize that she was never the problem, and discovering how much she is truly worth. Men came here and there to become her lovers in the island, but she never depended on them, instead used them to get her own information about the world around her. She became smart, and learned to use her magic to help the mortals, mortals being used by gods and goddesses to their own entertainment, just like how Circe was used by her family.

She does not fall in love until she finds a man who will stay with her and only with her. She grows even more once she has her first child Telegonus, she learns to love someone and take care of them. Finally, once she is old, she regrets her past naïve decisions but moves on free from anyone.

24 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post

Made with WIX

bottom of page